Low OG two brews in a row

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi there,

A couple of weeks ago I brewed an American IPA (pale, carahell, carapils) and was aiming for about 65% efficiency (my norm) and an OG of 1.058. Instead it came out around 1.048-1.050. Strange I thought. I'm not saying I am an expert brewer but low OG is not normally an issue. I've had it maybe once or twice ever. I make many mistakes and facepalm moments, but generally not in the gravity arena. I decided to switch up my plans and brew something else today a bit different and see what happened. I did an american wheat (Wheat, pilsner, carapils). Again was aiming for around 1.058 and it has come out around 1.046! Now I am really confused, and slightly concerned.

I can't see what has caused it. My sparge didn't seem too much or too quick or anything. I get the malt crushed at the supplier and they are a brewery and supply many other breweries so I'd hesitate to blame their process. One thing I did wonder is that my boiler has two elements. On these two brews I have switched off the lower power one after the hot break. But I am sure I usually do that anyway. I also scopped off some of the hot break foam to avoid boilovers. I am not sure I normally do that. Could that cause an impact?

I think my mash temps are pretty consistant. I'm not great so I tend to just shoot for 66-67 and this has been the same in both brews.

Any ideas or feedback on potential things to check would be gratefully received.

Cheers!

Do you take a pre boil gravity reading as this will give an indication if you're on target. Your boiler is boiling and I assume your meeting your fermenter target per litres.
Do you stir your mash at all after doughing in as you could be retaining vital sugars in your grain.

Hi