Mango wine - please help!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys. I have currently got a batch of mango wine on. It is my first time making fruit wine. Trust me to pick something difficult for my first go!

Anyway, the question I have is, it seems to be separating, as in the middle of the demijohn is normal, but all the heavy pulpy stuff is sinking to the bottom (it is NOT dead yeast). I filtered it through a flour sieve before I placed in the demijohn (because I haven't got any cheesecloths).

It is a 5 litre batch, but I put quite a lot of fruit in it (3kg) because I wanted it to be flavoursome. It was frozen fruit and I let it sit for 48 hours layered in with the sugar to help extract the juice.

I also put in a 1.5L bottle of Don Simon Mango and passionfruit juice. Is it this that's separating do you think? I put 1.9kg of dextrose in it. Start gravity 1.100.

Any other thoughts or advice please as to why it's separating? Is this normal?

I also have a cherry batch on and it is absolutely perfect.

Hi guys. I have currently got a batch of mango wine on. It is my first time making fruit wine. Trust me to pick something difficult for my first go!

Anyway, the question I have is, it seems to be separating, as in the middle of the demijohn is normal, but all the heavy pulpy stuff is sinking to the bottom (it is NOT dead yeast). I filtered it through a flour sieve before I placed in the demijohn (because I haven't got any cheesecloths).

It is a 5 litre batch, but I put quite a lot of fruit in it (3kg) because I wanted it to be flavoursome. It was frozen fruit and I let it sit for 48 hours layered in with the sugar to help extract the juice.

I also put in a 1.5L bottle of Don Simon Mango and passionfruit juice. Is it this that's separating do you think? I put 1.9kg of dextrose in it. Start gravity 1.100.

Hi,