Muntons vs Coopers

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

druid

Reaction score
So I picked up a case of Coopers cans today, and the owner of the HBS I shop at asked me if I had tried Muntons. No...the other brew store also doesnt carry it so I have no experience with it. Any of the kit brewers here have any thoughts on the two products?

Thanks for any insight.

Dave

Muntons make must of the UK manufactured kits, if not all. I've tried a few, and always went back to Cooper's. Muntons connoisseurs continental lager was particularly awful. However, other people have lots of success with the kits they make, so maybe my experience was an isolated one.

Muntons do lots more premium kits so no need to add any other fermentables.
They claim to use only. 100 % hopped malt which is reassuring considering some of the kits out there

Muntons is the biggest producer of LME based kits in the UK, check out their website, and if you buy a Wilko kit that is a Muntons produced kit too.
http://www.muntonshomebrew.com/other-products/other-branded-homebrew-kits/
http://www.muntonshomebrew.com/home-beer-kits/muntons-beer-kits/
Coopers one can range covers most tastes.
Of the Muntons kits I have tried they all seem to produce beers that are a bit 'homebrewery' some even with the twang so I don't usually buy them. Most (but not all ) Coopers one can kits will produce a decent beer if you give them a boost with grain and extra hops, the yeasts they supply with the kits are usually up to the job, so personally I buy them in preference,
Kit reviews here.
Beer Kit Review A - Z