My STC-1000 enclosure

Discussion in 'General Beer Brewing Equipment Discussion' started by crofty83, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. Aug 3, 2012 #1

    crofty83

    crofty83

    crofty83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    3
    Knocked this together tonight and thought I would share it with you all :-)

    :cheers:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Aug 3, 2012 #2

    joe1002

    joe1002

    joe1002

    Regular.

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Essex
    Looks neat :thumb:
     
  3. Aug 3, 2012 #3

    Springer

    Springer

    Springer

    Its a dogs life

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neat job Crofty, I really the STC 1000 concept, very usefull for many tasts. So good I'm going to build another. :D
    S
     
  4. Aug 4, 2012 #4

    Belter

    Belter

    Belter

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    What did you use for Heat/Cool connections?
     
  5. Aug 4, 2012 #5

    crofty83

    crofty83

    crofty83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    3
    They are hard wired to the controller. The grey connections that you see coming out of the bottom are cable glands which the flex passes through to stop moisture getting into the enclosure

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Aug 4, 2012 #6

    anthonyUK

    anthonyUK

    anthonyUK

    Regular.

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    5
    I think they are just trailing sockets side-on ;)

    Looks like a very neat job :thumb:
     
  7. Aug 4, 2012 #7

    Belter

    Belter

    Belter

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh I see. Couldn't work it out from the angle
     
  8. Aug 4, 2012 #8

    tazuk

    tazuk

    tazuk

    Regular.

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    beeston nottingham
    here is my stc-1000 how i did mine :thumb:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Aug 4, 2012 #9

    Springer

    Springer

    Springer

    Its a dogs life

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't see the point of trailing leads myself, the kit you plug in has trailing plugs :? , So did mine without, probably cheaper as well :)
    Being a tight wad, even folded up the box from a piece of scrap ali. :D
    Seen here controlling temperature of a fermenter heat pad, with the sensor gaffer taped to the vessel.
    [​IMG]

    S
     
  10. Aug 4, 2012 #10

    tazuk

    tazuk

    tazuk

    Regular.

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    beeston nottingham
    here is my hlt timer got it off car boot last week new in packing up to 3000w cost £2.00 lol right up your street tight wad lol lol

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Aug 4, 2012 #11

    anthonyUK

    anthonyUK

    anthonyUK

    Regular.

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    5
    It depends on what you are using it on.
    I use mine on 6ft tall larder fridges so they are required if you want the controller on top of the fridge as the power lead won't reach otherwise ;)
     
  12. Aug 4, 2012 #12

    Springer

    Springer

    Springer

    Its a dogs life

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice find Taz, you can't beat a buy like that. :D
    I must admit I have that problem as well A, but I will put a longer lead on the fridge, to avoid trailing leads when I don't want them. Thought someone had shortened the lead, in its life, but perhaps they are all short. :lol:
    S
     
  13. Aug 4, 2012 #13

    crofty83

    crofty83

    crofty83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    3
    For those who are interested in the prices

    Enclosure = £8.48 (It's also got pre-drilled holes so I can mount it to the wall which I will be doing)
    3 x 20mm cable glands = £1.47 (49p each)
    1 x 10mm cable gland = 60p
    4m of flex = £2.40 (60ppm)
    Sockets = About £1.20 each
    Plug = 70p

    Total = £16.05
     
  14. Aug 7, 2012 #14

    Vossy1

    Vossy1

    Vossy1

    Regular.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Manchester.....scorchio !
    A lot of tidy work guys, like your bargain t :cool:
     
  15. Aug 17, 2012 #15

    kane

    kane

    kane

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crofty and tazuk,
    Can i ask where you guys bought your enclosures from?

    Cheers,
    Kane
     
  16. Aug 17, 2012 #16

    crofty83

    crofty83

    crofty83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine came from Screwfix. I'll get the product number at lunch for you
     
  17. Aug 17, 2012 #17

    tazuk

    tazuk

    tazuk

    Regular.

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    beeston nottingham
    mine from maplins :thumb:

    cable glands from tool station cheapest i found ip68 pack of 10 :thumb:


     
  18. Aug 18, 2012 #18

    crofty83

    crofty83

    crofty83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    3
    The Screwfix product code for mine is 88640. If I was to build another one though I would probably use a bigger enclosure as its a bit tight inside. I got the cable glands from eBay. Cheap as chips :-)
     
  19. Aug 20, 2012 #19

    JABB

    JABB

    JABB

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to understand, you just plug the fridge into this and let this turn off and on the fridge to keep the temperature?
     
  20. Aug 20, 2012 #20

    Cyclops

    Cyclops

    Cyclops

    Regular.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Burton-upon-trent
    Yes, and for the heating side you can add a tube heater to the fridge so it heats it up aswell incase the temp outside is lower that you require.
     

Share This Page