N00b in need of help

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rik.cooper88

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm totally new to homebrew. I have all the gear but not really any idea. All I'm wanting to know is how much of everything I have to put in my brew. I've looked all over and one says one thing another says something else. I'll show you exactly what I have in pics and a list. If somebody could please look at what I have and make it really simple for me because I'm totally lost!

Pictures:
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=106gdNtyatL7YC8ZK8UiJ65qLIYJSDEWt
Ritchies Simply 40 Pint Beer Kit - Lager
Mangrove Jacks 600g Pure Malt Enhancer

Muntons Light Spraymalt 500g
Wilko 1kg Brewing Sugar

You don’t need all of the above. The instructions for a Ritchies kit say to Add the sachet of liquid malt contained in the kit plus 1kg of dextrose brewing sugar or for improved results 1kg of beer enhancer. so you should either add 1kg brewing sugar or any combination of malt enhancer and spray malt which are 1kg in total. The kit isn’t strong enough without the additions. It is kind of a matter of choice which additions you include. Use the kg of brewing sugar if you want to keep it simple or a mixture of the other additions to improve flavour.

The short version is follow the instructions on the kit. However, it does depend on what you'd like out from the kit in terms of style of beer. The lager kit + 1kg brewing sugar in a fermenter made up to 23 litres with tap water and a couple of kettle fulls of boiling water will align with the kit for a 4.4% light lager. If you want to make it stronger in alcohol and with more body then add the malt enhancer before making up the liquid level. You could add everything in but that would be a much stronger beer and less lager like.