New Grainfather app

Discussion in 'Member Reviews - Beer Kits and Brewing Equipment.' started by chrisbjones202, Jun 21, 2019.

Help Support The Homebrew Forum UK by donating:

  1. Jun 21, 2019 #1

    chrisbjones202

    chrisbjones202

    chrisbjones202

    Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Brackley, Northamptonshire
    Hi all,
    First brew with new grainfather app tonight and failed.
    Ended up getting it going with iPad after doughing in
    Where am I going wrong?
     
  2. Jun 24, 2019 #2

    SaintKel

    SaintKel

    SaintKel

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    How did it fail? I use the IPad and removed and reinstalled it yesterday after a few initial problems.
     
  3. Jun 24, 2019 #3

    Norfolk79

    Norfolk79

    Norfolk79

    Landlord. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Norwich
    Brewed yesterday with it, could not for the life of me get it to set the temperature for the mash at 65. Kept trying to heat to 75 for “Mash 1”. Ended up running the mash manually. Wasn’t until I upped the temp to 75 for the mash out, realised that for whatever reason the new app had revered my mash around, it wanted to do a 10 minute mash out at 75, before the 60 minute mash at 65! aheadbutt
     
  4. Jun 24, 2019 #4

    SaintKel

    SaintKel

    SaintKel

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Nightmare, I thought I was in a similar position yesterday with it not finding the recipe I wanted to brew. After an uninstall/reinstall it did the trick. If you haven’t already that might be worth a go.
     
  5. Jun 24, 2019 #5

    MmmBeer

    MmmBeer

    MmmBeer

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    I haven't brewed for a couple of weeks, but I have noticed the new GF website. Is this the problem, or is there a new android app that's causing it?
     
  6. Jun 24, 2019 #6

    jceg316

    jceg316

    jceg316

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    654
    Their old Android app was terrible and I stopped using it to control the Grainfather. Sounds like the new isn't great but might give it a go anyway.
     
  7. Jun 24, 2019 #7

    SaintKel

    SaintKel

    SaintKel

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Think everything has been upgraded applications wise. The Facebook Grainfather group has lots of reports of issues. It’s not gone down well to say the least. Apparently on a delayed heat it goes straight passed your mash in temp and boils the water! People have woke up to no water and a tripped system
     
    MmmBeer likes this.
  8. Jun 24, 2019 #8

    Keruso

    Keruso

    Keruso

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2018
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    75
    I had the same problem. You need to edit your recipe, delete the mash steps and add them back in the order you want to run, i.e 75c last. I also had the delayed heat problem SaintKel mentions, absolute nightmare.
     
  9. Jun 24, 2019 #9

    MmmBeer

    MmmBeer

    MmmBeer

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    I had a similar issue some months back when trying to program a multi-step mash and discovered you could move the steps up and down. Just checked the new website, there's an '=' sign to the left of the step that allows you to shuffle the steps around.
     
  10. Jun 24, 2019 #10

    Keruso

    Keruso

    Keruso

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2018
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    75
    I think the issue is the new software release. I brewed a recipe I’ve done before, it has 2 stages, 60mins then 10mins mashout, mash 1 is the 60mins stage, this weekend, first time using the new software, the GF swapped the stages around. I found deleting the steps and then adding them back in the same way seemed to work.
     
    Norfolk79 likes this.
  11. Jun 24, 2019 #11

    Norfolk79

    Norfolk79

    Norfolk79

    Landlord. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Norwich
    Glad it’s not just me acheers.
     
  12. Jun 28, 2019 #12

    Zephyr259

    Zephyr259

    Zephyr259

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    They're new website is also kinda horrible, so much dead space which makes it impossible to have your whole grain bill on the screen at once. I never had any issues with the app before, going to have to keep a close eye on it during the next brew.
     
  13. Jun 29, 2019 #13

    Peter Scandlyn

    Peter Scandlyn

    Peter Scandlyn

    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    NULL
    Hadn't been aware of the website upgrade so thanks for drawing my attention to it.

    Having had a gander one thing that interested me was reference in a couple of places to running the Grainfather at 65% power setting.
    Is this % power setting thing a feature of the Connect system or something else? Hadn't been aware such could be applied, thanks?
     
  14. Jun 30, 2019 #14

    Zephyr259

    Zephyr259

    Zephyr259

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    I've not looked though it other than the recipe builder part so haven't seen that bit about reduced power. I think you can do it in the app setting somewhere as it rings a bell, not sure why you'd do it though.
     
    Peter Scandlyn likes this.
  15. Jun 30, 2019 #15

    uDicko

    uDicko

    uDicko

    Regular.

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Sheffield
    First time using the new app last night... Don't like it.

    Appeared to struggle with the basics of accurately importing a beerxml and actually delivering schedule based on that.

    Was not best impressed, should have tested before a brew session
     
  16. Jun 30, 2019 #16

    Peter Scandlyn

    Peter Scandlyn

    Peter Scandlyn

    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    NULL
    Ahh (wink, wink) I doubt that YOU'D do it........I would tho' in 'certain' applications, which is why I picked up on it and so I'd like to learn how to apply.

    I suspect that it may be a Connect feature - I don't have Connect as I see little value for my Gf operation presently, but may have to rethink if in fact it is.
     
  17. Aug 5, 2019 #17

    MmmBeer

    MmmBeer

    MmmBeer

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    I brewed using my Grainfather yesterday for the first time in a couple of months and have to say I didn't notice any issues with the software. The only minor glitch I had was forgetting to start the boil timer after adding the bittering addition and having to time the remaining additions manually, but that was more of me being a spanner than a software issue.
     
  18. Aug 5, 2019 #18

    peebee

    peebee

    peebee

    Out of Control

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,575
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    North Wales
    There has been rather more than a few software updates in the past 5-6 weeks! Your experience holds out some hope for when I get around to testing it again.

    Current version of Grainfather Connect mobile app is 4.0.19.
     
  19. Aug 5, 2019 #19

    MmmBeer

    MmmBeer

    MmmBeer

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    That may be the answer. I just checked mine and it is listed as 3.2.2. Not sure I'll be in a rush to update it.
     
  20. Aug 5, 2019 #20

    Keruso

    Keruso

    Keruso

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2018
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    75
    I strongly suggest you do update, the latest update addressed the issue of the controller freezing during delayed heating which can cause your GF to boil dry like mine nearly did. I brewed this weekend, used the delayed heating, all was fine. Only problem was the timer countdown in the app froze a couple of times, had to restart the app in order to see what time was left on the boil.
     

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Group Builder