Quantcast

New Grainfather app

Help Support The HomeBrew Forum:

SaintKel

Active Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2018
Messages
26
Reaction score
11
Hi all,
First brew with new grainfather app tonight and failed.
Ended up getting it going with iPad after doughing in
Where am I going wrong?
How did it fail? I use the IPad and removed and reinstalled it yesterday after a few initial problems.
 

Norfolk79

Landlord.
Supporting Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2016
Messages
756
Reaction score
266
Location
Norwich
Brewed yesterday with it, could not for the life of me get it to set the temperature for the mash at 65. Kept trying to heat to 75 for “Mash 1”. Ended up running the mash manually. Wasn’t until I upped the temp to 75 for the mash out, realised that for whatever reason the new app had revered my mash around, it wanted to do a 10 minute mash out at 75, before the 60 minute mash at 65! aheadbutt
 

SaintKel

Active Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2018
Messages
26
Reaction score
11
Brewed yesterday with it, could not for the life of me get it to set the temperature for the mash at 65. Kept trying to heat to 75 for “Mash 1”. Ended up running the mash manually. Wasn’t until I upped the temp to 75 for the mash out, realised that for whatever reason the new app had revered my mash around, it wanted to do a 10 minute mash out at 75, before the 60 minute mash at 65! aheadbutt
Nightmare, I thought I was in a similar position yesterday with it not finding the recipe I wanted to brew. After an uninstall/reinstall it did the trick. If you haven’t already that might be worth a go.
 

MmmBeer

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2017
Messages
1,185
Reaction score
563
Location
Bromsgrove
I haven't brewed for a couple of weeks, but I have noticed the new GF website. Is this the problem, or is there a new android app that's causing it?
 

jceg316

Landlord.
Joined
Sep 8, 2014
Messages
2,437
Reaction score
827
Their old Android app was terrible and I stopped using it to control the Grainfather. Sounds like the new isn't great but might give it a go anyway.
 

SaintKel

Active Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2018
Messages
26
Reaction score
11
I haven't brewed for a couple of weeks, but I have noticed the new GF website. Is this the problem, or is there a new android app that's causing it?
Think everything has been upgraded applications wise. The Facebook Grainfather group has lots of reports of issues. It’s not gone down well to say the least. Apparently on a delayed heat it goes straight passed your mash in temp and boils the water! People have woke up to no water and a tripped system
 

Keruso

Regular.
Joined
Oct 22, 2018
Messages
329
Reaction score
179
Brewed yesterday with it, could not for the life of me get it to set the temperature for the mash at 65. Kept trying to heat to 75 for “Mash 1”. Ended up running the mash manually. Wasn’t until I upped the temp to 75 for the mash out, realised that for whatever reason the new app had revered my mash around, it wanted to do a 10 minute mash out at 75, before the 60 minute mash at 65! aheadbutt
I had the same problem. You need to edit your recipe, delete the mash steps and add them back in the order you want to run, i.e 75c last. I also had the delayed heat problem SaintKel mentions, absolute nightmare.
 

MmmBeer

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2017
Messages
1,185
Reaction score
563
Location
Bromsgrove
I had the same problem. You need to edit your recipe, delete the mash steps and add them back in the order you want to run, i.e 75c last. I also had the delayed heat problem SaintKel mentions, absolute nightmare.
I had a similar issue some months back when trying to program a multi-step mash and discovered you could move the steps up and down. Just checked the new website, there's an '=' sign to the left of the step that allows you to shuffle the steps around.
 

Keruso

Regular.
Joined
Oct 22, 2018
Messages
329
Reaction score
179
I had a similar issue some months back when trying to program a multi-step mash and discovered you could move the steps up and down. Just checked the new website, there's an '=' sign to the left of the step that allows you to shuffle the steps around.
I think the issue is the new software release. I brewed a recipe I’ve done before, it has 2 stages, 60mins then 10mins mashout, mash 1 is the 60mins stage, this weekend, first time using the new software, the GF swapped the stages around. I found deleting the steps and then adding them back in the same way seemed to work.
 

Norfolk79

Landlord.
Supporting Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2016
Messages
756
Reaction score
266
Location
Norwich
I think the issue is the new software release. I brewed a recipe I’ve done before, it has 2 stages, 60mins then 10mins mashout, mash 1 is the 60mins stage, this weekend, first time using the new software, the GF swapped the stages around. I found deleting the steps and then adding them back in the same way seemed to work.
Glad it’s not just me acheers.
 

Zephyr259

Landlord.
Joined
Jul 3, 2016
Messages
1,857
Reaction score
519
Location
Aberdeenshire
They're new website is also kinda horrible, so much dead space which makes it impossible to have your whole grain bill on the screen at once. I never had any issues with the app before, going to have to keep a close eye on it during the next brew.
 

Peter Scandlyn

Active Member
Joined
May 10, 2017
Messages
86
Reaction score
17
Location
NULL
They're new website is also kinda horrible, so much dead space which makes it impossible to have your whole grain bill on the screen at once. I never had any issues with the app before, going to have to keep a close eye on it during the next brew.
Hadn't been aware of the website upgrade so thanks for drawing my attention to it.

Having had a gander one thing that interested me was reference in a couple of places to running the Grainfather at 65% power setting.
Is this % power setting thing a feature of the Connect system or something else? Hadn't been aware such could be applied, thanks?
 

Zephyr259

Landlord.
Joined
Jul 3, 2016
Messages
1,857
Reaction score
519
Location
Aberdeenshire
Hadn't been aware of the website upgrade so thanks for drawing my attention to it.

Having had a gander one thing that interested me was reference in a couple of places to running the Grainfather at 65% power setting.
Is this % power setting thing a feature of the Connect system or something else? Hadn't been aware such could be applied, thanks?
I've not looked though it other than the recipe builder part so haven't seen that bit about reduced power. I think you can do it in the app setting somewhere as it rings a bell, not sure why you'd do it though.
 

uDicko

Landlord.
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
628
Reaction score
259
Location
Sheffield
First time using the new app last night... Don't like it.

Appeared to struggle with the basics of accurately importing a beerxml and actually delivering schedule based on that.

Was not best impressed, should have tested before a brew session
 

Peter Scandlyn

Active Member
Joined
May 10, 2017
Messages
86
Reaction score
17
Location
NULL
I've not looked though it other than the recipe builder part so haven't seen that bit about reduced power. I think you can do it in the app setting somewhere as it rings a bell, not sure why you'd do it though.
Ahh (wink, wink) I doubt that YOU'D do it........I would tho' in 'certain' applications, which is why I picked up on it and so I'd like to learn how to apply.

I suspect that it may be a Connect feature - I don't have Connect as I see little value for my Gf operation presently, but may have to rethink if in fact it is.
 

MmmBeer

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2017
Messages
1,185
Reaction score
563
Location
Bromsgrove
I brewed using my Grainfather yesterday for the first time in a couple of months and have to say I didn't notice any issues with the software. The only minor glitch I had was forgetting to start the boil timer after adding the bittering addition and having to time the remaining additions manually, but that was more of me being a spanner than a software issue.
 

peebee

Out of Control
Joined
Aug 15, 2013
Messages
1,945
Reaction score
900
Location
North Wales
I brewed using my Grainfather yesterday for the first time in a couple of months and have to say I didn't notice any issues with the software. The only minor glitch I had was forgetting to start the boil timer after adding the bittering addition and having to time the remaining additions manually, but that was more of me being a spanner than a software issue.
There has been rather more than a few software updates in the past 5-6 weeks! Your experience holds out some hope for when I get around to testing it again.

Current version of Grainfather Connect mobile app is 4.0.19.
 

Keruso

Regular.
Joined
Oct 22, 2018
Messages
329
Reaction score
179
That may be the answer. I just checked mine and it is listed as 3.2.2. Not sure I'll be in a rush to update it.
I strongly suggest you do update, the latest update addressed the issue of the controller freezing during delayed heating which can cause your GF to boil dry like mine nearly did. I brewed this weekend, used the delayed heating, all was fine. Only problem was the timer countdown in the app froze a couple of times, had to restart the app in order to see what time was left on the boil.
 
Top