New home-brewer Im hoping

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rico1973

Reaction score
Hello all i'm hoping my wife as got me my first home brew kit for Xmas fingers crossed in just under a week :grin:

Welcome.
If you are starting with kits you might find this useful.
http://www.thehomebrewforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=57526
At this time of year reasonable temperature control for your brew is a good idea so you will need to place it in a warmish room while it ferments out, 18-21*C is ideal assuming it's a not proper lager yeast. If you don't have anywhere suitable come back and we can help with some ideas.

Hello and welcome. I'm also new to the hobby and have already had some great advice from the forum. Good luck with the first brew!! [emoji106]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Got Coopers Bitter with my kit for my first brew shall I just brew this or try and improve it in anyway? I have read and watched YouTube about improving the beer, is it worth doing?

Got Coopers Bitter with my kit for my first brew shall I just brew this or try and improve it in anyway? I have read and watched YouTube about improving the beer, is it worth doing?
It being your first brew it as is then you'll understand why you may need to improve it if you need too.Everyone has there own opinion and pallet so what may be good for another may not be so good for you.This way you'll come to understand the need for change if you have too.🍺

Sent from my ALE-L21

Nearly all one-can kits benefit from a 'boost'. You can dry hop or add a hop tea or steep some grains or do a minimash.
As its your first brew my advice is do it as it comes, as a 'kit and a kilo' which means the kit can plus one kilo of extra fermentables. For the extra kilo don't use all sugar, use 1kg of brew or beer enhancer or better 500g dried malt (DME) plus 500g brewing sugar or better still 1kg DME.