New(?) idea for red wine from supermarket ingredients

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Babs

Reaction score
This might be a hare-brain scheme or it may be a brainwave (or it might already be common practise!) Please be aware I am a novice and this is surely something that someone's tried (and perhaps failed at!) before.

I was hoping to make some decent home brew red wine from supermarket ingredients. (I've been told on here that you can only get good results if you want white or rose).

How about if I used 20 litres of Sainsbury's Red Grape Juice (https://www.sainsburys.co.uk/shop/gb/groceries/sainsburys-red-grape-juice-1l) and followed a standard forum recipe using sugar, yeast and perhaps pectolase. I would add the sugar and take SG readings till I got it to about 1.095, then let it ferment away to 1 or maybe less, resulting in a 12.75% or thereabouts result.

Has anyone tried this? What were the results?

Babs.
:?:

It'll turn out like a Rose but will still taste good. The red grape juice in the supermarket isn't quite the same as that from which they make wine. For starters I don't think the generally use wine grape varieties to make the juice and secondly when they make red wine the whole grapes are crushed and the whole lot is fermented i.e. skins, pips, etc. (called "must"). A lot of the colour and body of the wine comes from the skins.

Waitrose do a Merlot juice if you want to get close: https://www.waitrose.com/ecom/products/waitrose-merlot-grape-juice/429668-166657-166658

24.2g sugars in 100ml in the merlot is high compared to the asda red grape I've just used at at 16g.
I might try this juice myself.

Babs I tried using red grape juice on its own and as has been said it turns out like a Rose wine and it was a bit bland.

Thanks guys. I'm interesting in trying some beetroot maybe......