NEW TO MILLING

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CD

Retired Brewer
Supporting Member
Reaction score
NEW TO MILLING

Although I’ve been brewing since Pontius was a pilot, I’m new to milling, as freshly crushed malt was available from nearby Tuckers floor Maltings in Newton Abbot, sadly closed last September.

I now own a 2-roller mill, which appears to be a Chinese copy of an American design supplied via Amazon from Germany, and the first goods it produced from Simpsons Golden Promise pale malt, with the roller gap set at the maximum I’ve seen recommended on-line of 40 thou, seemed far more floury than I’ve been used to, and the resulting beer took far longer to drop bright – 2 weeks instead of 2 to 3 days.

I am considering increasing the gap to between 45 to 50 thou for my next brew, which is still less than the width of all but the smallest of grains, but would welcome anybody’s experience of this as this old dog is thankfully not above learning new tricks!

I now own a 2-roller mill, which appears to be a Chinese copy of an American design supplied via Amazon from Germany, and the first goods it produced from Simpsons Golden Promise pale malt, with the roller gap set at the maximum I’ve seen recommended on-line of 40 thou, seemed far more floury than I’ve been used to, and the resulting beer took far longer to drop bright – 2 weeks instead of 2 to 3 days.

I am considering increasing the gap to between 45 to 50 thou for my next brew, which is still less than the width of all but the smallest of grains, but would welcome anybody’s experience of this as this old dog is thankfully not above learning new tricks!
That's a pretty big gap (40 thousandths of an inch being ~1mm) - I'd bet pre-crushed grain is probably 0.8mm/0.9mm.

My mill gap is 0.6mm FWIW.