Newbie Elderflower champers

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BennyBB

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a complete novice and decided to give brewing some elderflower sparkling wine a go. When I mentioned it in work everyone asked for a bottle so I'm hoping it will turn out ok.
I multiplied up a recipe I found online: x4
  • 5-10 Elderflowers Blossoms (or 15g of dried flowers) - I used fresh
  • 700-1000g sugar - i used 4kg for the whole 4 gallons
  • The juice of 3 Lemons (or 3 teaspoons of Citric Acid) - i used lemons, and put some of the peel in, which i had seen in another recipe
  • 1/4 teaspoon of Wine Tannin - didn't have any so i tried a cup of black strong tea
  • 1 Packet of "Champagne Style" Yeast- i used 1 for the whole 4 gallons (added 24 hours after campden tablet) (Lalvin EC 1118)
  • 1 teaspoon of Yeast Nutrient
  • 1 crushed Campden Tablet
  • 1 Gallon of water. - i used spring water from lidl
  • 140ml White Grape Concentrate or 250g chopped raisins - i ordered some of this on amazon but red turned up, so i thought id put it in and have slightly pink elderflower fizz