Newbie here, looking for advice please

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Higstone

Reaction score
Hi everyone ,

Just made my first batch of cider, everything has gone smooth so far following advice I've seen on this forum, so thanks!
I am struggling with the final process of bottle carbonation.
I am after a medium sparkling cider, so after fermentation I had a F.G of 0.998, I moved the cider to a secondary tub and added 12oz castor sugar to 13ltr of dry cider. I placed 1/2 tsp sugar in the bottles and then racked the cider in glass 500ml bottles (I also did this with 1 plastic bottle to determine when carbonated). My aim is to wait until the bottles are carbonated and then pasturise to kill the yeast, thus stopping extra fermentation in the bottles.
However, after only 24 hours the plastic bottle is solid as a rock, I opened a few glass cider bottles and it is like a volcano eruption, does anyone know what I'm doing wrong as I've read carbonation like this can take up to 4 days?
Apologies for the long post, would appreciate the help, thanks.

Is that what's caused extreme carbonation to occur within 24 hours? As I said my aim was to have a sweeter cider so i was going to cut off further fermentation by stove top pasturisation.

I managed to salvage the cider and recap it for a second attempt, but now I've noticed white floating bits in the test bottle, any idea what this could be?

Thanks for the reply, apologies I must not of explained properly.
From my limited understanding the sugar will only affect the abv if there is active yeast present, therefore backsweetening is normally done by using artificial or non-fermentable sugars when bottle carbonating.