Newbie Home Brewer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Barley Rubble

Landlord.
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am a newbie to the home brewing game and I have already brewed one each of the following Woodforde's kits; Wherry, Admirals Reserve and Bure Gold. I managed to purchase some second hand equipment locally through eBay, 3 x 25 litre fermentation bins, 2 x siphon tubes, 2 x stirring paddles, 48 x 500 ml flip top brown bottles, 63 green wine bottles as well, all for £50! Bargain I thought. Anyway onto the brewing. Unfortunately I was not in possession of a hydrometer at the beginning of the fermentation, so I do not know what the alcohol content will be for all three beers. The fermentation seemed to go okay and following the instructions on the kit boxes, I bottled all three over a two day period which was on the seventh and eighth days from initial fermentation and then moved all the bottles in crates to a room of between 18 and 20 degrees C. Then after 2 days I then transferred the crates to a colder room around 8 to 10 degrees C as per instructions. Having checked some of the bottles of each brew, they do seem to be clearing gradually.

I do have a habit of jumping into any new hobby/project! I am learning as I go and am looking forward to tasting some of by brews in the coming weeks. It is hard to resist not sampling some but I tell myself I must be patient ;-).

Having read some of the different threads on here I see that many of you tinker with the recipes and my intention is to maybe one day in the future do the same. I certainly have plenty of time on my hands as I have been furloughed by my employer since the middle of March and not likely to return until July at the earliest! I suppose I will have to learn to walk before I can run!

Any helpful advice will be greatly appreciated.

Sorry to have gone on a bit.

Welcome to the forum.