Newbie homebrew question need help...thx

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shawn

Reaction score
Hi, I am new in homebrew and have few question wish you guys can do me a favor, thank you very much for any information. My questions are:

1. Is that ok to mill the barley using normal blender instead of using mill?

2. Is that ok to put too much yeast for the fermentation? Will it speed up the total process?

3. Total amount of normal brewing usually around 10 to 20 litre, then the boiling time usually 60 to 90 minutes. If I scale it down to 1 or 2 litre, does it mean the boiling time also can cut down into 10 minutes?

4. How many time the yeast can be recycled to used?

Thank you for all the help...

1. It's not ideal to use a blender, but I did it once and it worked. It took ages though, you can only do a little bit at a time.

2. You can put more yeast in but there's really nothing to be gained, as a beginner at least. Follow the guidelines.

3. Boiling time is the same whatever the quantity.

4. Varies. It's all about sanitation really. You can ruin a brew with yeast that has been contaminated with bacteria or wild yeast, so your sanitation has to be very good.

All I can add to the above is that if you are washing the yeast from the FV, you can fairly safely re-use once, but split the yeast so as to get you another 4 or 5 brews easily with the same yeast. To me, the risk outweighs the outlay of another £5 on a sealed sachet.

You put it first runnings out of the FV into a 2L PET (lemonade/cider) bottle, together with the sterilised (boiled and cooled) you add to do the "washing". Then leave to settle.

Then dispose of the washing watersand decant the yeasty bit in the middle into a second PET bottle, add sterilised, cold water and split the contents between a number of small (250ml) bottles that once held lemonade.