Newbie Pressure Barrel troubleshooting

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LogicalBrew

Reaction score
Hi Guys

My first attempt at homebrew is 5 weeks old and I would appreciate some help troubleshooting my attempts to use a pressure barrel! :-?

For background, I am using a Wherry Kit with a Gervin ale yeast. It had 2 weeks in the primary FV (reached ~4.5% ABV), 2 weeks in the pressure barrel for secondary ferment at 18-19 deg C (with ~85g brewers sugar), and is now at the end of week 1 of cold conditioning.

So what's the problem? -> when I draw a small test glass off the pressure barrel, it rapidly stops flowing and then starts to glug air through the tap. So, presumably there is not enough pressure built up on top of the barrel but there must be some level of seal or it wouldn't glug through the tap? Out of curiousity and because I am still learning, I popped a CO2 canister in the top to pressurize the barrel. When I did that, I could clearly hear CO2 escaping through the lid. So, I prepped a replacement lid (from my second, unused, pressure barrel) and swapped the barrel tops over. In the interests of science, I popped another CO2 canister in the new lid and can once again hear it hissing out almost immediately.

My questions:
- how tight should I screw the pressure barrel lid on? How do I know if it is too tight?
- how tight should the CO2 valve assembly in the middle of the lid be screwed down?
- does it matter that the tight fitting 'rubber band' around the centre of the valve assembly is not perfectly smooth fitting?
- is it just normal for some CO2 to escape once the barrel reaches a pressure limit or should the CO2 assembly form a pressure tight seal?

These probably sound like really noddy questions and I thought that I had read all the various guides for correct fitting. However, I am obviously doing something wrong! :-?