Newbie questions....

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CeeGee

Reaction score
Hi all,

Just put on my first ever WoW, in fact my first ever anything. Not an orange wine, but a variant thereof, sugar totals just over 1100g, all bubbling away nicely now.

Was just wondering about the 'giving the dj a bit of a shake' thing. I Appreciate it gets the goo up top mixed back in, but doesn't that introduce oxygen? - was intending to make beer first, and read a lot about that being a bad thing, or is that not applicable to wine somehow?

Also wondering about back sweetening. After racking, stabilising and fining, yes? Then how do you mix it it up in the Dj? Surely that stirs up sediment again, or will that all drop back out again?

Daft questions maybe, but total beginner here. Very excited watching that airlock blooping away!