Newbie questions

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All,

Excellent forums - thanks.

I'm a total newbie though I have watched tons of YouTube videos and read a lot on these forums, so I hope I'm getting a rough idea of what's in store. My plan is to start my brewing journey with some well regarded beer kits before possibly moving to something more sophisticated.

First, a simple question I hope -- why are some fermentation buckets 25L and others 30L? Is one generally better than the other for brewing real ale-style beers?

Second, is this a reasonable beginner's equipment list, or am I missing something obvious? Some of these things are personal preferences but if you tell me that a pressure barrel is far better than bottles, I'll listen. (Have been a bit put off by all the nightmare stories about leaking PBs.)

- Fermentation vessel with tap and hole for airlock
- Thermometer
- Airlock
- Hydrometer
- Bottling tube
- Sanitising stuff
- Spoon
- Syphon (plan is to bottle with bottling tube but will probably buy syphon as well while I'm stocking up)
- Beer kit, probably Woodfordes or something from Wilko just to get me started.

Third, is one supplier much better than any other or is it a matter of shopping around?

I have plenty of bottles. And plenty of other questions but I'll leave it there for the moment.

Thanks in advance. I really appreciate any insights people may have.

There's not a very good reason why some fermentation buckets are different sizes. A larger one allows you to make more beer, or the same amount of beer but with more head space (so the bug foamy yeast head that develops (the krausen) doesn't go up into the airlock and make a mess).

A lot of homebrew recipes are scaled at 5 gallons/23 liters, and that became a bit of a "standard" batch size

Hello Haversham.