Newbie!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neilb

Reaction score
Hi everyone, hope you are all well and safe.
After months of thinking about it and many debates with the wife, I decided it's time to try my hand at home brewing. I've got more time on my hands now as I'm furloughed so I can give it my full attention.
So I purchased all the equipment and decided to go for a Wherry kit which is now conditioning. I then bought a Young's lager which is now carbonating.
Very exciting times as I've always thought about home brewing and the thought of having your own beer, but with 2 and a half year old twins I don't get alot of free time normally!
The forum looks great and I'm looking forward asking lots of advice athumb..
Neil

but with 2 and a half year old twins I don't get a lot of free time normally!

I started brewing 10 years ago with a 2 year old and a 0 year old so it's the perfect time for you to start thumb . The Wherry kit is great, be it for starting out or just brewing a batch to drink. Welcome to a great pastime!

Welcome to the Forum.
Keys to successful brewing are cleanliness in all that comes into contact with your beer, steady fermentation temperature and patience. And as a newcomer you are advised to follow the 2+2+2 'rule' which is 2 weeks in the FV, 2 weeks carbing, and 2 weeks conditioning before you try your first one, although longer in conditioning may find your beer is improved. But when you get to know the process better you can adjust the timing to suit

Thankyou for the welcomes and advice, very much appreciated!
I followed the instructions closely on the Wherry so only carbonated it for 2 days 😫
It's been conditioning for just over 2 weeks now, should I put it back into the warm to "re-carbonate" or leave it where it is to carry on conditioning?