Newby Grain Brewer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheAmazingGonzo

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a fairly amateur brewer having done about half a dozen kits, all with decent results.

I've been offered the chance to use a Grainfather for a bit, but have very little idea about grain brewing.

Someone pointed me in the direction of your forum and suggested I may get some information here, but there's so much, I'm not sure where to start.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Many thanks,

Gonzo

Good evening, and congratulations! Grainbrewing: it's extracting the sugars yourself from the grain, instead of having them preprocessed as in extracts. Plenty of grainfather-brewers here, but even the other half-automated brewers could be of assistence! You could even do a kit in a grainfather, but that would be a bit weird...

I would suggest for ease to try one of the pre made up kits for all grain brewing, just choose your kit and generally all the grains hops protofloc tablet and instructions come with them. All can be brewed in the GF just adapt slightly the method or ask on a specific kit which somebody may have done before for any change of method. Good luck

Welcome! The Grainfather is a bit intimidating at first but simple enough once you've used it once or twice. Does your model have the bluetooth controller or the previous one (with a plastic cover).

What do you fancy brewing for the first batch?

Haha,

Thanks for the input everyone, @the baron @Zephyr259 @Oneflewover @Leemond @Slid @Harbey

Definitely not scared me off @GerritT

I will have a good read over all the information and suggestions you've given.