no boil no chill 1 week wheat beer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Keep some spraymalt handy in case you need to up your gravity.
And secondary ferment? I thought... I am new to ag.. That boiling off a couple of litres would up the gravity and increase flavour intensity?

And secondary ferment? I thought... I am new to ag.. That boiling off a couple of litres would up the gravity and increase flavour intensity?
I would not add it to secondary. Add it to the wort before fermentation and take another reading. 100g in 1l of water gives approximately 40 gravity points, If your making raw beer you cant boil in any case. I would recommend getting a refractometer so you can check your gravity points as your brewing.
If after a 90 minute mash i don't have the points i want i will add a little more base malt and take another reading in 15. This is why i suggest doing a full volume mash as it makes it easier and more consistent. I hope that makes sense.

It does make sense, thank you.

Out of interest.. I ended up with about 9 litres in the fermenter, capacity is about 12 so there's a good bit of head room. I used the fermentis wheat beer yeast and there was visible activity, not. Massive activity, after about 12 hours for 2 days and it has stopped. I can't see into my fv, as it's black.. And don't want to open the lid. I would usually follow the 2 2 2 rule with an extract kit..

Open it and take a reading or leave it for a week?

6 days in the fv and 6 in the bottle... Couldn't resist. Really pleased. Its not strong, no idea on the abv, but it's a nice drink, keeps the head and only my second ag... But the first I have been able to drink, the neipa is still conditioning.. A few things I will do differently next time but I made good notes.

Attachments

• DSC_1708.JPG
    DSC_1708.JPG
    15.9 KB · Views: 63