Not new to home brewing but still class myself a novice...

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trotters80

Reaction score
Hello, so ive been using beer kits for a few years now. I still want to use them but improve them. I have done some research, read the how to guides on here & other sources, youtube, other home brew sites etc etc.

1. Someone said to me, "Why buy a cheap beer kit if youre going to add a £10 malt extract to it?....just buy a better beer kit". Thoughts?

2. I now know not to use the provided yeast sachet, but dont know which other one to buy & how much to use?. (I normally make lager/pale ale in a 5 gallon bin)

3. Hops. I have some leaf hops. I read to boil them for 10mins, is that correct?. Wont boiling make them lose their flavour?. Do I use a sieve to get the hop liquid into the beer?, and finally do I add them in the last 3 days or so of 1st fermentation?. I was adding them at the beginning with everything else?.

Thank you and sorry for a lot of questions but im hoping it will keep the thread short rather than keep asking more questions.

Hello, so ive been using beer kits for a few years now. I still want to use them but improve them. I have done some research, read the how to guides on here & other sources, youtube, other home brew sites etc etc.

1. Someone said to me, "Why buy a cheap beer kit if youre going to add a £10 malt extract to it?....just buy a better beer kit". Thoughts?

2. I now know not to use the provided yeast sachet, but dont know which other one to buy & how much to use?. (I normally make lager/pale ale in a 5 gallon bin)