Oat wine ?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chef-Ozzy

Reaction score
Hi all
I'm new to the site. Only been making my own wine the last two years so other than helping my grandad as a young boy and nicking his wine as a teenager I'm a newbie.

I was sat down today ordering some yeast ball's for a batch of Chinese rice wine " shaoxing huangjiu"style.
Just wondering if anyone one has or heard of making wine from oats on the same principles as rice wine making.
Theoretically it should work as the Aspergillus Oryzae or as most know it as Koji, feeds on starch and converts it to fermentable sugars.

I'm sure it must have been tried, I carnt find any information on it though.

Last edited:
The Wikepidia page says it works with rice, other grains and potatoes so it should work. If using raw oats you would have to boil them 1st.

Have had rice wine (Saki) with Sushi before (warm usually) are you hoping for something similar? Could you supply a link to the yeast you are planning? I suspect you plan to make a runny water based porridge & ferment that?

Hi thanks for your reply.

I'm surprised that very little info can be found. Maybe the flavor isn't to be desired.
Basically as it was just a thought that I may put into practice. I would use whole oats. Follow my exact method for my rice wine.
I Steam the rice as this is what I was told, never to submerge the rice in water. I'm not sure why possibly tradition or science or a combination. I also add additional rice usually 1 week after first fermentation for a further 2 weeks. This Increases fermentables. End result is around 18% slightly sweet wine.
Less additional rice more yeast balls equals a dryer wine.