Overnight hop stand

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yveei

Reaction score
I was wondering: what's the longest hop stand anyone has tried?

I've been brewing for about 5 years, and when I get round to doing an IPA it's never hoppy enough!

Recently I read about "no-chill" which is what I've been doing all this time, and have come to realise my late additions have probably been in vain.

So today I'm going for an overnight hop stand!
I've added 50g of Fuggles (5% AA) to the fermenter while the wort was at 80C to see what happens.

I'm expecting an increase in IBUs initially but as the temperature drops I'm thinking the hop flavour / aroma will continue to be imparted.

I would go for something like Mosaic, Citra, Cascade, Galaxy etc as I find they have more of a "hoppy IPA" character to them. Also is there a reason you're not dry hopping them in your fermenter?

@Hazelwood Brewery - great, I was thinking it would be around that value for IBUs too!
Fingers crossed there is no vegetal flavours!

Thanks for the info @Paul7189 - I need to buy some more hops so I'll pick up one of the ones you suggested. Maybe that's where I've been going wrong! I've been using Saaz, Styrian, and now Fuggles for my IPAs but maybe they're the "wrong" ones.

I've done some dry hopping but I'm starting to think I didn't go big enough. Last time I dry hopped 38g Saaz (3.5% AA) for 5 days but couldn't really taste it in the finished bottled beer.

@Hazelwood Brewery - great, I was thinking it would be around that value for IBUs too!
Fingers crossed there is no vegetal flavours!

Thanks for the info @Paul7189 - I need to buy some more hops so I'll pick up one of the ones you suggested. Maybe that's where I've been going wrong! I've been using Saaz, Styrian, and now Fuggles for my IPAs but maybe they're the "wrong" ones.