Poor Head Retention/Ashbeck

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hemanresu

Reaction score
I'm a novice looking for suggestions to improve my results.I started brewing in April this year and have done 7 batches so far 2 pils,2 kolsch ,a wheat beer, a saison and a cider. The first 2 batches were not great but after switching to Ashbeck I am now really chuffed with the beer i can make in my kitchen.Only one aspect lets the beer down..the head dies really quickly in the glass.This is true for all the beer I have done including the wheat beer with 50% wheat malt.

I have been using the Ashbeck water without any salt additions and was wondering if there are any tweaks I could do there to improve matters (I cant get to grips with the water calculators despite repeated attempts)

If I Use standard glasses the head on my beer drops quite quickly. But... so does the Wold Top in my local.
If you want a good head on a pint of your own ale, have you ever tried a nucleated pint glass?

I don't think the water is causing the head retention issue, but rather than using Ashbeck as-is, try adding half a teaspoon each of calcium chloride and gypsum per 10L of water. You might find it improves your brews somewhat.

thanks steve

i was hoping to get some water treatment suggestions
im brewing tomorrow so i'll give that a try

Flaked barley or torrified wheat will improve head formation and retention. I've used torrified wheat at 10% to good effect. Flaked barley is meant to be the best of all of them though I'm not sure of the percentage you can go up to without it affecting the taste. @Gunge is a big fan of FB, maybe he'll comment.