Porter recipe advice please

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oneflewover

Landlord.
Reaction score
Evenin'

I have little (actually none) experience of brewing darker ales AG. I have a couple of dark beers lined up, but just want some advice - the recipe I'm looking at seems to have a lot of speciality grains, almost 25%, and I'm concerned it's too much:

75.5% MO
7% brown malt
7% chocolate malt
7% dark crystal
3.5% black malt

OG 1.069 / FG 1.016

Bittered to 48 IBU with Magnum at start of boil and 15 / 10 / 5 and dry hop bramling cross additions. Closely based on a supposed clone of The Kernel India Export Porter

Thanks!

That recipe is correct and the actual Kernel recipe from the Craft Brew book. However, this is Kernels modern take on a 19th century porter and is a big, flavoursome beer even at 6%. For a supermarket, standard cask porter, it is a lot of dark malt. If that's more your target, I'd cut all the chocolate, black and brown malt, back by about 50%.

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk

That recipe is correct and the actual Kernel recipe from the Craft Brew book. However, this is Kernels modern take on a 19th century porter and is a big, flavoursome beer even at 6%. For a supermarket, standard cask porter, it is a lot of dark malt. If that's more your target, I'd cut all the chocolate, black and brown malt, back by about 50%.

Thanks @Sadfield, I appreciate your thoughts. I am aiming for a biggish beer, hence looking at that recipe, but even so it struck me that it might end up overly cloying with that amount of dark malt. Cheers

Thanks @Sadfield, I appreciate your thoughts. I am aiming for a biggish beer, hence looking at that recipe, but even so it struck me that it might end up overly cloying with that amount of dark malt. Cheers