Priming and Carbonation

Discussion in 'Beer Brewing "How-To" Guides' started by Pugh, Jan 31, 2020.

Help Support The Homebrew Forum UK by donating:

1. Jan 31, 2020 #1

Pugh

Pugh

Pugh

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to homebrewing and even newer to the forum!

I've bottled a couple of brews and made sure ~3g of priming sugar was in each bottle and I've been a bit underwhelmed by the carbonation. I've been opening a bottle every 3 days since bottling to see how it's going on and I'm a bit underwhelmed. (I know that it develops over a couple of weeks, but, still...). I know that when you keg you generally use less sugar.

I recently got a corney keg and all the associated bits in part to be able to control the carbonation of my brews. My question is: do I need to prime the brew for kegging into a corney, or just keg the beer and set the CO2 pressure?

Thanks in advance!

2. Feb 1, 2020 #2

Horners

Horners

Horners

Landlord. Supporting Member

With the corney, no need to prime. You simply decide what temperature the beer is going to be stored at and then using a carbonation chart determine what pressure to set regulator to to achieve desired level of carbonation. Then just'set and forget' for a week or so. There are methods to achieve desired carbonation levels more quickly but as the beer needs a couple of weeks in keg anyway I don't bother.

One of advantages of not priming is you don't get left with the additional yeast sediment from the secondary fermentation.

Last edited: Feb 1, 2020
    Drunkula likes this.
  3. Feb 1, 2020 #3

Ben034

Ben034

Ben034

Regular.

What temperature are the primed bottles being stored at? If the bottles are 500ml and you have used 3g sugar per bottle they should end up a fizzy 2.5 vols (assuming your measurements are correct with the sugar). After this keeping them somewhere warm and patience are key.

4. Feb 1, 2020 #4

terrym

terrym

terrym