Protafloc - for all brews?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slowdave

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm relatively new to AG brewing and need some advice about adding Protafloc.

Can I / Should I add it to every brew?

So far, I have added it to every brew, but I'm about to brew my first wheat beer (Malt Miller Oberon) and wondered if there are any styles that I definitely shouldn't add protafloc to.

Many thanks

I add it to everything. Your not suppose to with the super hazy/ neipas. I would with a wheat. Beer. Greg hughes does in his recipe book

I only added Irish moss to beers I want to clear. I don’t add it to my Wits, for example. From the picture on the MM website it looks like the Bells Oberon is meant to be cloudy so I wouldn’t add the protofloc or any other finings, personally. But YMMV.

I’ve just brewed a NEIPA to a recipe from Greg Hughes book and it stipulates adding protofloc for the last 15 minutes of the boil. :confused.:

Yeah, well, um... I guess the carageenan’s job is to drop out the hot break proteins and it’s done its job long before the wort is in the FV. With that in mind, if the desired cloudiness is an effect of the yeast, excessive dry hopping or anything else that happens during and post ferment, it may not make any difference to the final product 🤷‍♂️.

I really don’t know, but if I want a cloudy beer, I’m not going to add anything that might lead to extra clarity in that beer. Saying that though, I’ve had Wits clear in the bottle naturally after a number of months conditioning. But in that case that can always be fixed with a bottle swirl on pouring.