Raspberry TC - probably

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Roddy

Landlord.
Reaction score
Stuck on 23 ltrs of Asda SP apple juice last night, and bought a bottle of Lowicz Malina (Raspberry), to flavour/prime with once it's fermented out....

Didn't add any extra sugar, as the SG of the apple juice on its own was 1.045, so if it gets to 1.000 (which it should, or less), it'll be around 5.7-6.0% abv

Unless I have a eureka moment and decide to flavour it with something else :whistle:

I'm thinking of doing something very similar - but it's my first try at a cider.

When you say 23 ltrs - is that all juice? Or did you mix with spring water as I have read others describing?

Do you think the Polish cordial stuff will remove the need to add any sugar to prime?

Hi as13

Of the 23l, 22l is juice and the rest of the volume is strong tea (for tannins) and a bit of extra water that I mixed up some pectolase in (stops it going cloudy because of pectin in the fruit juice).

I won't need to add any sugar in at all, and the Lowicz syrup will take care of the priming sugar element. I'm intending to put all of the syrup in, which equates to about 7.5g per 500ml bottle. I prefer a fairly fizzy cider, I didn't put all of the syrup in the similar cider I just made, and I wished I had.

You can put in some water instead of juice, but I bought the Asda smart price apple, which was 65p per litre, so for 22 it was only £14.30 and £1.30 for the syrup. I think it makes for more depth of flavour with all apple, compared with kits I have made with only 4l of concentrate and the rest water etc...

Good luck !!

Hey Roddy,

Thanks for the info!

I'm looking forward to having a go! Hopefully I'll have something nice to consume in the summer!

the summer ? I'm drinking the one I started about 4 weeks ago... pretty daym good too !!