Reducing Mash PH

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Baron

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi I have been reading up on reducing the mash PH and come across a rough guide of using 9g of acid malt per kilo of grainbill or 0.25 ml of lactic acid at approx 80% ish. This would equate to 1ml of lactic per 0.1 reduction on a 4kg grainbill or 36g of acid malt. I am a amateur and only looking for a simple way of getting my mash PH there or thereabouts and by no means a expert, does this sound a good approximation as my last mash PH was 5.9 and I would like to get in the middle band of 5.2/5.6 ish. Ps I do not want to spend the time learning water composition/PH at the mo but do require to get a little nearer than I am I do find the water chemistry side too tedious and it would take away the enjoyment of the hobby but using it as a first step towards learning it at a later date if it does interest me.

The main problem is always that the mash pH is dependent upon your recipe. Blond beer has a higher pH than darker beer. Caramel malts also reduce pH, the darker they are the lower the pH. Roast malts (stouts e.g.) also can bring pH down, even in such a way that pH must be increased, e.g. by using sodium bicarbonate.

The best way to get your pH correct is to measure it, either by using strips or a pH meter.

There is also a thread on this forum where the more advanced brewers give tips if you post your recipe: "Beginners guide to water treatment".

Also not an expert but sticking in some carbonate reducing solution (CRS) does the job for me. My water is quite hard (196 ppm CaCO3) and having toyed with calculators I just use 1ml CRS per litre of liquor.