Reliable Laptop?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I've run into a couple negatives with HP--overheating is probably the worst of it. This current HP was not cheap but it is built like it is though I was impressed by the weight of it (non-scientific comment). We got it from Costco which is why we bought it.
I've had a great experience with ASUS and Acer and only replaced those when they became out-of-date (old).
I am interested to hear what the top two or three computer brands are, in their experience?
Like I said, at the moment, mine are Acer and ASUS.

I have had a HP for quite a few years and before that the Sony Vaio of which it is still running but only used as a back up. I would buy both again

Got a ThinkPad S440 - been ok up to now must be 3 years old. When I was a service engineer (when I was young) whatever we had seemed to last three years, assuming no coffee spills.
The first laptops we had (two floppy drives) operating program on one, data storage on the other were built like br---- s---- houses, over the years they all have been 'lightened'.

Last edited:
I have used an ASUS Laptop for a few years it was a decent spec back then and is still running smoothly today if it broke beyond economic repair i wouldn't hesitate in buying another.

I mixed ASUS and ACER in my earlier post so removed it. aheadbutt

I have an ACER-E570 with an IT processor and the only downfall was the battery which recently only lasted an hour considering it's about 7 years old but then I swapped out the hard drive for an SSD and it's like a new laptop with nearly 3hrs on the battery and literally seconds on boot rather than minutes and no lag surfing now.
Unfortunately it will have to be replaced sometime as it has not got the spec for Windows 11.