Ribena wine

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chippy_Tea

Administrator.
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
I have been toying with the idea of making a Ribena wine as my first ever standard wow tastes like over watered orange and is not what i expected (i am hoping letting it mature for a couple of months changes that)

I know the boiling part to get rid of the preservatives has been discussed many times but i fancy giving it a try, the video guide i watched mentions 1 tsp citric acid, he uses youngs, i have not got any so is there anything else i can use instead? (i will be making 4.5 litres)

I don't have any Glycerine, can it be added at any time or has it to go in the original mix?

Thanks in advance.

Thanks for that info, i am new to wine making so can i ask why acid is required, i have made orange and apple versions of wow's and they didn't call for it?

Someone will be along with more detailed info soon,
But from my limited knowledge it needs citric acid because the Ribena lacks a sufficient amount, and the orange wow is full of citrus fruit so doesn't need any.

Intelekt said:
Someone will be along with more detailed info soon,
But from my limited knowledge it needs citric acid because the Ribena lacks a sufficient amount, and the orange wow is full of citrus fruit so doesn't need any.

Apple juice is also relatively high in malic acid.

Acid is needed for two things: Firstly, it restricts the growth of unwanted bacteria during fermentation, helping ensure that the yeast becomes and remains dominant.

Secondly, the amount and type of acids in the wine/cider has a big effect on the final flavour. There are three main acids in wine-making - malic, citric and tartaric - each with a slightly different taste. Other less common acids include oxalic, lactic and succinic.

Intelekt said: