S-04 yeast - funky aftertaste...?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sifty

Landlord.
Reaction score
Hi all. I'm relatively new to this but have made 8 AG brews, most of which have turned out pretty well.
However, the 2 brews where I used Safale S-04 have bothered me (one stout, one ordinary bitter). In both cases when tasting early I get a bad aftertaste. It's hard to quantify, but it's sort of 'home brewy' if that makes sense. It diminishes with time however as the beer conditions.

I'm using a Brewzilla 35l, temperature controlled fermentation/conditioning fridges, dry pitch the yeast, and I bottle condition with dextrose.

Both times the beer came right after 3 weeks, but I can still detect the faint funky aftertaste. Nobody else seems to notice it. Seems silly, but I've only just realised the 2 brews that bothered me use this yeast (most others have used US-05). Oh and it definitely hasn't fermented at too high a temp, maxed out at 19 degs C with the last one. No problems with infections either, scrupulous cleaning and sterilisation...

The yeast is a beast to use, goes hard straight away and settles out brilliantly, but I can't get over the perceived problem with it (is it just in my head?) I'd like to try the same recipes with an alternative yeast as a comparison.
Any recommendations, advise or comments...?

Last edited:
Hi all. I'm relatively new to this but have made 8 AG brews, most of which have turned out pretty well.
However, the 2 brews where I used Safale S-04 have bothered me (one stout, one ordinary bitter). In both cases when tasting early I get a bad aftertaste. It's hard to quantify, but it's sort of 'home brewy' if that makes sense. It diminishes with time however.

I'm using a Brewzilla 35l, temperature controlled fermentation/conditioning fridges, dry pitch the yeast, and I bottle condition with dextrose.