Scottish Water / Campden Tablets

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stesworldofbeer

Reaction score
Im new to brewing and ive done as much research as i can so far, with reading books, watching youtube, and googling. Ive bought all the equipment and ingredients i need for one gallon batches (4.5L), and i was planning on brewing in the next few weeks. Then i read about water...

I didn't realise how complicated it was. Im already confused with the forum post on water, about chlorine, ph levels, etc. And im terrible at mathematics and calculations!

Does anyone know if i can use Glasgow tap water without campden tablets in one gallon batches?

And if i do need to use campden tablets, how much do i use for batches this size?

Last edited:
I only started using Campden tabs in my water about 4 brews ago. My palate isn't refined enough to notice any difference in the brews though, but I do it anyway. My water comes from muirdyke reservoir and is quite soft, as is a lot of the water supplied to the Glasgow area.

As I make 10L batches these days, I just put about a 1/4 of a tablet into a bucket with 15L of water in it and use that to take water from. Packets of Campden tabs always have little pieces of broken tablet in them, so I just guess what looks roughly a 1/4. This is based on Strange-Steves post on water treatment which says that 1/2 tablet will treat 35L, hence why I use 15L water to treat - makes it easier to calculate.