So who goes Sea Fishing?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I fancy having a go at occasional sea fishing since I am not too far from the S/SE coast. That's initially from the beach, or perhaps rocks, or maybe a pier or jetty. Boat fishing maybe later. Trouble is I have no experience whatsoever of any sort of fishing/angling although my grown up sons are slightly keen coarse anglers. So I am looking for guidance on how to get started. From what I have picked up from talking to people and reading and videos on the web, the basic kit is either lightish for spinning for mackerel or other small predator fish and in that case I could get a telescopic rod, or a beach caster set up say based on a 12' rod. I don't want to spend shed loads at this point but on the other hand don't want to buy too cheap in case it falls to pieces soon after buying as seems to happen sometimes by reading the reviews, so really something fairly modest but fit for purpose. And It would be good if what I bought covered most situations. But I am not too bothered about having kit that can cross over to inland fishing because I am unlikely to do that. Last is it worth getting a 'complete' kit of all the items you are told you need which perhap saves a few £s, or is it best to make up your own set of equipment buying separately and buying what you actually need.
So if there are any keen sea anglers out there, what advice would you give a complete novice like me to get set up with the basics?
All comments gratefully received
Thanks
athumb..

Last edited:
I do a bit of fishing...but rarely sea. But...advice for buying gear...
Decide where you will fish,your target species ( this could be seasonal)and your budget.