Sorachi Red IPA

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi there,

I have a pile of hops in the freezer including a packet of Sorachi Ace. I've never used them before and tbh I haven't really enjoyed beers I've had thst use SA. I don't want to do a Saison or lighter lager which a lot of forums and homebrewers recommend. I have a range of malts in stock including Carared (bought for an Irish Red which is on my brew list) which I've also never used. Anyway, that's the background, here is the proposed recipe :

Aiming for 19l boil, 15l batch. 5.5% abc and about 60 ibu

3.4kg pale malt
500g Carared
250g Melanoidin
250g Carapils

20g Sorachi Ace @60
20g Sorachi Ace @15
30g Sorachi Ace @whirlpool

Safale US-05

30g Sorachi Ace dry hop. 5 days or so.

Any comments, suggestions, ideas? Not sure if 500g is too much carared? I wouldn't normally go so high with a caramel malt.

Never used the stuff. I see Brooklin Brewery use it and I'm not fond of their beer. Seems a fair experiment, though. Let us know how it turns out.

I do 10-12L ish batches so I'll try not to confuse things by referring to weights.

But from my notes I've used 7% carared in my black IPA and 9.5% in my ESB, both of which were really good.

The only question I'd have is whether the additional carapils in your recipe is then too much...

I'm planning to make a rye IPA soon - I know that's a bit different but the recipe calls for about 10% carapils plus another 8% of various crystal malts - so I'd guess you'll be ok as long as you balance it with the appropriate bitterness.

Oh, and I also made a red IPA of my own recently which is really tasty. Best way I can describe it (happy to be corrected if I'm wrong!) is it's like a hoppy bitter, like a bitter but using more fruity American hops but much less intense than an AIPA.

Good luck athumb..