St Peter's Cream Stout

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Southern Geordie

Reaction score
First time poster long time lurker!

I am new to brewing. My first attempt was a Wilkos Artisan Red Ale which is going down rather nicely.

I'm now dipping my toe into stouts and have bought a St Peter's Cream Stout kit.

I was looking at swapping the suagr for a DME however as the kit does not require sugar for primary fermentation could i still include this or will it spoil the brew.

You can add sugar brown or dextrose or dry malt extract or molasses. Or you can make it a sweet stout by added Lactose (milk sugar).

Another question to add on this:
Has anyone tried short brewing this to get a more punchy stout, if so how did it turn out?
I’m thinking of pitching it for just 25-30 pints rather than 36, and maybe adding a little black treacle.

Thoughts?

Hi there
Also doing the cream of stout for the first time. I have 750ml bottles and asking for advice on much sugar or carbonating drops do i need?
cheers

v

I made this kit last year - added spraymalt and freshly brewed coffee following a recommendation on this forum. It was superb. There’s a thread somewhere.

Hi there
Also doing the cream of stout for the first time. I have 750ml bottles and asking for advice on much sugar or carbonating drops do i need?
cheers

v
Last time i made this i batch primed with 125g glucose. Was aiming for 2.3 vols CO2. That might be a little much for some stout or ale aficionados but i like all my beers to have some life about them.

I suggest you use three quarters of a tea spoon of brewing sugar for every 750ml bottle. This beer will really improve after the first 3 months.

Last time i made this i batch primed with 125g glucose. Was aiming for 2.3 vols CO2. That might be a little much for some stout or ale aficionados but i like all my beers to have some life about them.