Stepping Fermentation temperatures in FV

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adamski

Adamski
Reaction score
Hi All

I have been homebrewing for a few years now, and understand that fermentation temp for yeast is critical to a good brew. I have been using a standard FV bucket, heat pad and inkbird controller to maintain temp according to kit instructions. So I generally control Fermentation at approximately 20-21 C. I have a GF Conical fermenter arrived today (early crimbo pressie to myself), and it has the facility to be able to step temperatures. Which for me begs the question is there an optimal temperature curve for yeasts. Perhaps something like 21c for a couple of days then dropping a degree every day or whatever best suits the curve. Household ambient temp is a pretty consistent 18-19C.

I am using a dried yeast that comes with a kit, though to be fair I have sometimes hydrated it to form a starter.

Part of the reason for getting the GF Conical FV was that, I am also interested in capturing used yeast for future use, and also reducing racking times to reduce sediment, this would allow me to select liquid yeasts and not be tied to the dried yeast provided in the kit.

Opinions or a good steer in the right direction with regard to temp steps throughout fermentation will be greatly received.

(I am on the fence with going all grain, I want to but I need to cost it out with regards to how logistically do-able it is. I live in Highlands of Scotland, and no decent homebrew shops within easy reach for supplies.)

I've had a bit of a scan on the forum but couldn't see the answer. If this topic has been kicked around a lot and there's a link to the topic please point me that way, I don't want to waste peoples time on a well mused question.

Thanks in advance.

Adam