Stout newbie

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sean_99

Reaction score
Hi all thanks for accepting me to your community, total newbie only a few brews in to my new venture. Am a stout only guy and using St Peters kits to now I have enjoyed mostly every drop I have brewed and am learning by a few mistakes have made. 3 weeks fermenting and 3 weeks bottled seems to work very well (got a good few tips from browsing the members posts on this forum before joining today) cheers all🍺

Welcome Sean the Stout.
Are you going to stick with the St Peter's kits or are you going to venture into all or partial grain brewing. What commercial beers do you like?

Hi Sean and welcome,

There used to be a guy called "Ditch" over on jimsbeerkit who made a "Ditch's stout" I won't paste from the page as I don't know if it breaks forum protocols etc.

Thanks for the welcome guys, am going to stick to what I am comfortable for the time being (kits) but will probably get into using partial grain further down the line. Currently have a St Peters fermenting from yesterday and I put a Muntons milk stout on last Tuesday. Not seen a bubble in the airlock on the Muntons at all yet and been nearly a week now. It has 500g of lactose to be added in the recipe after adding the 2 cans of malt extract, was only reading elsewhere later an realized the lactose is non fermentable. Have been going off the airlock bubbles in previous brews rather than taking a hydrometer og and fg reading (schoolboy error) but will from now be using it all the time. There is foam up the sides of the Muntons fermenter so it must have been a quick n non visible ferment. Also made up 6g of brewing yeast in warm water with some sugar and added that on saturday but still no bubble.