Temp in Garage

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abeamer

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello from the very sunny south coast,

Absolute newbie advice (not even got the kit yet but the shopping list is growing), higher authority has said I can brew my own beer (only if I make her some wine...seems fair), however I can only do it in the bat cave (aka the garage). Even on the south coast the bat cave will have large fluctuations in temps during the day.

I have spent sometime reading the forum posts, but would like some advice on keeping the temp with the fv in the garage. I have read people using aquarium heaters, belts, pads, immersion heaters and fridges etc

As i'm just starting on this adventure what would be the advice?

Some people use fridges - my garage has its own micro-climate - so at this time of year I have to wrap the fv in a carpet and have it sitting on a heat pad

A lot would depend on

- what type of beers?- lagers are very different from ales for example

- what range of temperatures?

If you have the space then I think a fermentation chamber aka fridge is the best way to go. If you can pick up a free or cheap used one then the whole build will be quite cheap, as well as the fridge you would need a temperature controller (inkbird 308) which are about £30 and a 12" 40w tubular heater. Replace the shelves with some ply and you're done.

The most popular method is a brew fridge, old fridge, tube heater and inkbird controller.

1618946048216.png
1618946210619.png

Cheap heat only method -

How to Set up a Water Bath for your FV | The HomeBrew Forum