Temperature Controller for HLT / Fermentation Fridge

Discussion in 'Beer Brewing "How-To" Guides' started by pdtnc, Jul 2, 2010.

Help Support The Homebrew Forum UK by donating:

  1. Jul 2, 2010 #1

    pdtnc

    pdtnc

    pdtnc

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Keighley, West Yorkshire
  2. Jul 2, 2010 #2

    adeybambam

    adeybambam

    adeybambam

    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers for that - very useful. I'm thinking I may go down this route, but seem to recall reading that those temperature controllers can't handle switching any more than about 2kw, which is less than the elemnt in my HLT. Have you had any problems?
     
  3. Jul 2, 2010 #3

    Sean_Mc

    Sean_Mc

    Sean_Mc

    Regular.

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    N.Wales
    Another excellent blog, thanks for sharing pdtnc
     
  4. Jul 2, 2010 #4

    pdtnc

    pdtnc

    pdtnc

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Keighley, West Yorkshire
    No problems as yet, but I have only just tested it once... others on JBK forum have had no problems with Kettle elements & the same Temp Controller.

    I'll be using both elements to get up to Temperature then Turn the Direct Wired one off and leave the Temp controlled one to do its job.
     
  5. Jul 3, 2010 #5

    john_s

    john_s

    john_s

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haworth, West Yorkshire.
    Looks good, pdtnc. :thumb:
     

Share This Page