The Krausen monster - a newbie tale

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Foggy Scruggs

Reaction score
Hey all,

Any advice (I'm a complete newbie) on what I did wrongly or should do in future would be greatly appreciated.

I'd read somewhere the Festival World Beers Kit- German Weiss can be a vigorous ferment so didn't fill to the advised 23 litre mark but just under, thinking that'd help me with a little additional headroom. All instructions were followed closely but.....

Within 18 hours at ideal temperature I woke to a bulging lid ready to explode, a gunked up air lock, krausen coming out a previously well sealed lid. (I now realise a blow off tube is an ESSENTIAL piece of equipment. Why don't they include in starter kits? :mad: Okay it keeps the price down, but for a couple of quid it seems crazy not to include it. At least STRONGLY advise to buy one and at least 2 airlocks. The "Smart Airlock" I bought was advised to be able to deal with even the most vigorous fermentation. I think maybe a 1" blowoff tube might have coped? Okay we live and learn but still.....rather annoying)

Over the next 5 or 6 hours the krausen continues spewing up through the grommet cavity onto the top of the lid which i remove and clean away intermittently. I don't want to take the lid off completely and expose everything and it seems pointless putting an airlock in this krausen volcano and of course - no blow off tube. Was this a reasonable course of action? Unlikely to have harmed the end product? Any other advice for avoiding this scenario in future?

Anyway eventually the monster abated and a further 24 hours later everything seems okay. 🤞 Praying I haven't bodged it up.