The Range MYO Irish Stout

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Afternoon everyone! This is my first attempt at a beer kit and I'm at the carbing stage just now, 6 days in. The bottles are very firm, almost solid, so the demerara sugar priming is doing its thing. I've read many threads on here with hints and tips for these kits but I don't think I've seen anything on the question that I have....

The instructions say to transfer the bottles to a cool, dark place for clearing after a week - what is 'cool'? Not in a fridge I assume - that would be 'cold'. Is it 12 - 15 deg C? What do you good folk do for this conditioning phase?

First and foremost take no notice on kit instructions, did you take og and fg readings sorry original gravity and final gravity readings, the usual is 2 weeks fermenting 2 weeks priming 2 weeks conditioning, one of the experts will be along to explain better than me

First and foremost take no notice on kit instructions, did you take og and fg readings sorry original gravity and final gravity readings, the usual is 2 weeks fermenting 2 weeks priming 2 weeks conditioning, one of the experts will be along to explain better than me

😁 It may be my first beer kit, but I've been brewing mead, cider and wine for a while now, so I'm up to speed on abbreviations, BTW! I should have qualified that! 😁

..and being an Engineer, I'm quite anal about recording things, so yes, I took the OG and FG - 1.022 and 1.010. I have read about the 2/2/2 rule, but the last two days (of a 12 day fermentation) had a steady 1.010 gravity reading, and I'd read that 1.010 is a normal FG, so proceeded to bottle. Next time, I'll stick with the 2 week fermentation rule, as I did notice some tiny bits of hops flowing down the bottling wand and clogging it up! A few more days may have settled it out better.