Thinking about Russian Imperial Stout

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IainM

Landlord.
Reaction score
I'm planning to put a RIS on once the IIPA comes out the fv, vaguely based on the The Kernal recipe in the Mikkeller book, but with coffee, lactose, added DME/grain to compensate for my brewhouse efficiency.

5.5kg Pale
0.705kg Munich I
0.705kg Brown
0.562kg Black
0.228kg Amber
1kg light DME
0.5kg brown sugar
0.25kg lactose
55g warrior (14.1%), 90 mins, for 81 IBU, maybe 50g would be ok
Good quality fresh coffee ��" will think about quantities later.
4 packets US-05
With 61% brewhouse, at 20L, should get OG of 1.100, FG 1.025, 9.8%, or there abouts.

I've not done anything like this, so does anyone have any thoughts? I'm hoping to have this one ready for Christmas next year.

I am not an expert but brewed a few strong beers recently. Highest FG was 1020 which is quite sweet. I would imagine 4 packs of US05 is too much and will ferment most of the sugars out even if you have lactose in it. Is brown malt neccessary along with the black malt? You could always try cold steeping the roasted malts for a smoother flavour. I do that with a lot of my Stouts as you can up the percentage and still get a smooth taste.

Two things I'd make sure of when brewing high gravity are aeration and an adequate starter.
I've got an air pump and a sterile air filter and use that for 30 minutes on any high gravity beers. Some high gravity beers benefit from a second aeration after the initial few hours after pitching.
At the very least give it a good thrashing with a paddle, preferably one shoved into a drill!