Thoughts on my first IPA recipe?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RenegadeSnare

Reaction score
Hello,

I am attempting my first IPA homebrew using the BIAG method. I would love some feedback on my proposed recipe & hop schedule. Thanks in advance!

Looking to make a 5 gallon batch:

MASH:
1KG Marris Otter Pale Malt
4KG 2 row malt

Hops/Boil
I have simcoe and cascade in leaf and citra & magnum in pellet.
so:

60 mins: 10 grams of Magnum
15 mins: 15G of cascade, simcoe & citra
5 mins: 20 grams of cascade, simcoe and citra
Flameout: 10 grams of simcoe and cascade
Dry Hopping about 70grams of simcoe and cascade for 3/4 days

Any feedback is really appreciated!

Looks good to me but I'm not an expert on hop schedules.
Why the two different malts? What yeast are you going to use? What IBU and ABV are you expecting?

Looks good to me but I'm not an expert on hop schedules.
Why the two different malts? What yeast are you going to use? What IBU and ABV are you expecting?

I have entered the ingredients on a calculator and it has returned an estimated boil gravity of 1.036 and a total IBU of 49.00. I am trying to work out how to establish how strong it would be

I have entered the ingredients on a calculator and it has returned an estimated boil gravity of 1.036 and a total IBU of 49.00. I am trying to work out how to establish how strong it would be

1.036 isnt very strong. If say you used us-05 yeast which has attenuation of about 79% your beer with be about 3.7%/3.8%, so not an IPA at all but very hoppy blonde ale

Generally I think that looks like it'll make a nice beer.

I think you could pick one or the other of your malts, unless you're just using up leftovers.