Time to harvest hops

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rob Kerr

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm in my first year of growing hops and I was wondering if anyone else, particularly in the Cambridge area, has started harvesting yet. I know it's just about time, and my Fuggles look/feel ready. The Goldings look like they need a little more time.

Cheers,
Rob

Hi Rob I'm about 0.6 degrees further south than you and my Prime Donna/First Gold hops are almost ready. So I will guess there's 5-7 days lag as we move every degree or so further north :). Back up by some discussion in the growing report thread :).

Can you post a photo? I may post one if I can drag myself outside!

EDIT: Whew, did it:

ocNsfpM.jpg

Uy7Ipnp.jpg

I’m not far from you, just over the border in Central Beds, 20 miles west of Cambridge. My Goldings are ripe for picking this week. I picked about half on Monday, but was probably a few days early. The rest on the plant is definitely ready now, so will pick this afternoon.

Its a proper art, isn’t it, deciding when they’re ready?

@Henders - yours look like they’re there. Difficult to tell from a photo of course - it’s not just the look, it’s the feel, sound and smell as well... 😁

ETA: I feel I’m a week or so earlier picking than last year. Didn’t keep a record of when I picked in 2019, but I brewed with them dried around the end of September.

Here are a couple of shots of the Fuggles, which have been quite prolific - probably not enough to brew a full batch from, but certainly worth chucking them into my next brew.

20200902_100808.jpg

20200902_100811.jpg

The Goldings bines have grown well, but there aren't a lot of flowers this year.

Thanks for the tips. I suspected they were nearly ready. I think I'll pick 'em next weekend and brew the same day.