Uninsured drivers.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chippy_Tea

Administrator.
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
I keep an eye on twitter and local police tweets as i drive for a living, every day they tweet several times that they have taken uninsured drivers cars off them, having just read this i am amazed at how common it is.

The MIB is the mechanism in the UK through which compensation is provided for victims of accidents caused by uninsured and untraced drivers, which is funded by an estimated £30 a year from every insured driver's premiums.

Despite a steady downward trend since 2005, causing uninsured driver numbers to almost halve, the organisation reports that compensation pay-outs due to uninsured drivers has increased from 21,972 in July 2014 to 24,213 in July this year. This represents a year-on-year monthly increase of 2,241 or 10.2%.

The Bureau has identified that a third of uninsured drivers are under 30 years of age and suggests that the soaring cost of insurance is encouraging higher risk motorists to ‘chance it’ without proper insurance cover in place.

“Every year, thousands of people are injured and killed by uninsured drivers. They pose a real threat to other motorists and road users. To address this, we are working proactively with police forces across the UK.”

Last month’s figures revealed that over 27,000 uninsured cars had been seized so far this year. The Met led the way with 9,935 vehicles seized, followed by West Yorkshire police who seized 27,688 vehicles, according to a study commissioned by Churchill Car Insurance.

Seized vehicle stats

Of the 70,430 cars apprehended by police last year, two were Ferraris, three were Lamborghinis, 10 were Bentleys and 40 were Porsches.

70,430 cars were taken by police last year, 1,892 seized cars were sold at auction" raising over £1million.