Water Tight Washer Tip

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Piperbrew

Reaction score
Thought I would share a wee tip with those who might have a leaky boiler or who have trouble getting a water tight seal on a build. These washer are what I use on my airline and today saved me a load of bother as the silicone washer I was using was too soft and collapsed under the press of the nut on the fitting.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_sacat=0&_nkw=dowty+washers&_sop=15

Dowty washers come in lots of sizes and the beauty of the is they will be tight when slid onto a threaded tail for example. When tightened they seal against the thread underneath and also onto any bearing surface they are put against such as a boiler pot.

Hi!
I always use a metal washer between a seal and a nut - the nut turning will deform the washer without it.
I'm not an engineer but I assume that this is standard practice?

Hi!
I always use a metal washer between a seal and a nut - the nut turning will deform the washer without it.
I'm not an engineer but I assume that this is standard practice?

Yes that is best practice but as with the boiler I bought today there is a silicone washer that came with it and also fibre.

The trouble with silicone is, even with a steel washer is you might do everything correctly, but once it is compressed it starts to deform, sometimes they bulge out to one side and in most cases once that's done it has stretched and its a new washer. Fibre washers are good in 9 time out of tens but if they are too slack on the inner diameter they do not centralise on the threaded shank and can be a pain.