Welding Courses

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I suspect a fair few people on here know how to weld... it's something I've wanted to learn to do for quite a long time for various reasons, and ties in with brewing. I also have an old car that could do with patching up. I have an Engineering degree so know a bit of metallurgy theory already but don't have the practical skills.

I've seen a City and Guilds course at a college for £550 for an 11-week course, which is basically one evening a week for 3 hours, doing one of either MIG, TIG or stick welding (I think), is this the sort of thing that would be useful as a newbie for DIY automotive or brewing applications? I'd expect further qualifications would be needed for specific jobs such as being qualified for welding SS to fermentation vessels etc, so this is just a first step.

https://www.wsc.ac.uk/courses/engin...ntroduction-to-welding-21et576717?occ=1383754

I decided to teach myself how to weld during lockdown; bought a cheap MIG welder, watched a few youtube videos and just had a go. I'm not exactly 'stacking dimes', but I can get two pieces of metal to stick together.

Made a FV support for the base of my fermentation fridge, a few hanging basket brackets and repaired a few bit & bobs, but it's nice to know it's there if I want to make anything out of metal.

I taught myself and its not hard. After all you are only wielding the power of electricity into a ball of plasma the temperature of the surface of the sun to fuse two metals together :-)

But in all seriousness, if you know the fundamental theory, just get a decent kit and crack on. Just make sure you have plenty of scrap steel and lots of grinding/cutting disks and stick bits together and then cut them in half to see penetration of the weld.