Wheat beer idea

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Florin

Reaction score
Hello!

I'm new to brewing, i have a Bavarian wheat beer kit which started for 3 days already and everything seems to go fine until now. I have read a lot in the past weeks and i would like to try also the BIAB method for a small batch to test things.
My preferred beer always have been the Paulaner weissbier.
I would like to try something similar to this beer, but not necessary to replicate it, i think i like wheat beer (i'm also in love with bread, baking my own bread for years).
Bottom line is, i would love a beer which is not bitter, it's low on alcohol and sparkling.

Based on what i've found in the shop i use, i've come up with these ingredients:
- Brewferm wheat flakes 10%
- Weyermann wheat 80%
- Weyermann Acidulated 10%
- Hallertau Mittelfruh hops ( found description: "General AA range 3-5.5%. A very nice mellow spicy hop with great flavor with citrus tones" )
- M20 Bavarian wheat yeast

What do you guys think ? I know, there are other things to consider, not just the ingredients. I plan to study a bit which temperatures and timings …. but i wanted to know if at least the base ingredients seem ok.
Or, if you guys have some ideas on how i should brew with these ingredients for my target result, i appreciate it.

Most wheat beers have a goodly portion of barley malt that provides enough of the right enzymes to convert starches to sugars and make them fermentable.

You will probably want between 30-60% of your grain bill to be lager/pilsner/pale/Vienna/Munich malt which all provide enough enzymes and fermentability.

Drop acidulated to 5% and Weyermann wheat from 40%, keep the wheat flakes, and add 45% pilsner or Vienna malt depending on how much colour you want.

Good choice of yeast and hops athumb..

Thank you very much for you time and information !! I will do that.