which single hop to use?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mancer62

Landlord.
Reaction score
I am no expert on homebrewing and dont claim to be and am very happy just going along making my extract brew kits and getting them into my cornies.
I have however started adding hops which I do by just adding to my corny in a muslin bag and leave them there till the beer is finished.... I have done this in 4 batches now and must say I have enjoyed each. The addition of the hops gives it a much better taste and i am very happy with it.
The hop I have used so far is Citra...I do love this hops citrusy taste but feel like i'd like to try something different so i get to know other hops. I also know u can combine and blend several hops but feel as if id like to just stick to a single hop at the moment.
Therefore cam anyone recommend any i should try with maybe a short description of the taste etc..tyvm

Just got a bag of Idaho 7 hops, based on recommendations on this forum, and can't wait to try them when we get back from hols. Galaxy are a great hop as is Simcoe. I also think Centennial is massively underated. More on this later as I've just started the maddest of experiment with a vacuum sealed pack of Centennial, about ten years old and because of various moves, spent several years in uninsulated lofts and garages.

First Gold and Brewers Gold are also great hops, but quite different in character to the Citra.

You sound like a drug addict, 'Just scored me a bag of idaho,man!' :laugh8:
That would be Leb, man.
It's a good idea of yours, though. Perhaps we should experiment a little wider in the hops' family. Could have some interesting results. Already tried a bottle called "Weed". Not bad but not stunning either.
What the hell are Hackberries?