White Labs WLP001 Calafornia Ale Yeast - STARTER

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kimosabby

Regular.
Reaction score
Gents,

just a quick question; ive got the White Labs WLP001 Calafornia Ale Yeast. Whats the best starter for it or just poor in?

Its currently in beer fridge at 20Degrees. Will be pitching this evening

thanks

Whats the expected OG of the beer? You can use a calculator like this one to work out the starter size.

If you are pitching tonight then its too late to make a starter anyway.

I always overbuild my starters by 100 billion cells and keep this back for the next brew, much easier than washing the yeast after the brew and no way Im paying £7-8 each brew for yeast.

shall I just pour in then out of the packet? I've never used a live yeast before only started dry yeasts with water at about 25degree

OG should be around 1055 and FG 1014
23l Mosaic IPA 5.5%

ok just done it; if I had time what sthe main set up of a starter with a live yeast?

There are loads of good guides online for making starters. The basic principle is you make a very simple wort of close to 1.037 SG (1L water to 100g DME) with a light malt extract and pitch your yeast into this, let it ferment out then either pitch this into your wort (your final beer wort) or you can chill the starter and pour the beer off the yeast and just pitch the yeast slurry.